Spring 2017 Registration
Part-Time First Year Students Academic Planning Guide
Full-Time First Year Students Academic Planning Guide
Academic Planning Session for Full-time 1L Students
First-Year Elective
Selection Form
Professional Skills
Requirement Classes
Delayed Opening
Instructions

Request Process

Please submit all electronic requests to registrar@wcl.american.edu.

Hard copy requests should be delivered directly to the Office of the Registrar. We aim to respond to all requests within three business days, or sooner, if possible. We look forward to serving you!

Contact Information

Office of the Registrar
American University
Washington College of Law
4300 Nebraska Avenue, NW, Suite C101
Washington, DC 20016
Tel: 202-274-4080
Fax: 202-274-4085

registrar@wcl.american.edu

Registrar Office Hours:

Fall 2016 Office Hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday

9:00AM - 5:00PM

Wednesdays

9:00AM - 6:00PM

Useful Links

Academic Calendar

Fall 2016

New JD student orientation and final registration
Part-time students August 17, 18 & 20
Full-time students August 18 & 19
New LLM student orientation August 18 & 19
First day of classes August 22
Add/drop period August 22-26
Labor Day holiday (University closed; No classes) September 5
Yom Kippur (WCL No classes; Offices open) October 12
Registration for Spring 2017 semester November 9-10
Thanksgiving holiday (University closed; No classes) November 24-25
Monday, November 28 Monday classes (only) meet
Tuesday, November 29 Wednesday classes (only) meet
Wednesday, November 30 Thursday classes (only) meet
Thursday, December 1 Friday classes (only) meet
Last day of classes (includes make-ups for holidays) December 1
Reading period December 2-6
Examination period December 7-17
Winter Break December 24 - January 2 (University re-opens on January 3)

Spring 2017

Orientation for New LLM Students Friday, January 6
First day of classes Monday, January 9
Add/drop period Monday, January 9 - Friday, January 13 at 11:59 p.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on   Monday, April 24) Monday, January 16
Inauguration Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on Tuesday, April 25) Friday, January 20
Spring Break Sunday, March 12 - Sunday, March 19
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, March 31 at 5:00 p.m.
Registration for Summer 2017 semester begins Thursday, April 13 - Friday, April 14
Registration for Fall 2017 semester begins Thursday, April 13 - Friday, April 14
Monday classes meet (make-up for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) Monday, April 24
Friday classes meet (make-up for Inauguration Day) Tuesday, April 25
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holidays) Tuesday, April 25
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Tuesday, April 25
Reading period Wednesday, April 26 - Sunday, April 30
Examinations begin Monday, May 1
Examinations end Saturday, May 13
Commencement Sunday, May 21

Summer 2017

Memorial Day Holiday (University closed; classes rescheduled on Friday, June 2) Monday, May 29
First day of classes Tuesday, May 30
Add/drop period Tuesday, May 30 - Saturday, June 3 at 11:59 p.m.
Make-up for Memorial Day (Monday classes meet) Friday, June 2
Independence Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on Friday, July 7) Tuesday, July 4
Make-up for Independence Day (Wednesday classes meet) Friday, July 7
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, July 14 at 5:00 p.m.
Last day of classes Saturday, July 29
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Saturday, July 29
Reading Period Sunday, July 30 - Monday, July 31
Examinations Begin Tuesday, August 1
Examinations End Thursday, August 3

Fall 2017

Orientation for New Part-Time JD Students Wednesday, August 16 (evening), Thursday, August 17 (evening), Saturday, August 19 (morning)
Orientation for New Full-Time JD Students Thursday, August 17 - Friday, August 18
Orientation for Transfer JD Students Thursday, August 17 (evening) - Friday, August 18
Orientation for New LLM Students Thursday, August 17 - Friday, August 18
Orientation for New SJD Candidates Friday, August 18
First day of classes Monday, August 21
Add/drop period Monday, August 21 - Friday, August 25 at 11:59 p.m.
Labor Day holiday (University closed; classes rescheduled on Monday, November 27) Monday, September 4
Yom Kippur (University open; classes rescheduled on Thursday, November 30) Saturday, September 30
Registration for Spring 2018 semester begins TBD
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, November 3 at 5:00 p.m.
Thanksgiving holiday (University closed; classes rescheduled on Tuesday, November 28 and Wednesday, November 29) Thursday, November 23 - Friday, November 24
Monday classes meet (make-up for Labor Day) Monday, November 27
Only Thursday classes meet (make-up for Thanksgiving - Thursday) Tuesday, November 28
Only Friday classes meet (make-up for Thanksgiving - Friday) Wednesday, November 29
Only Saturday classes meet (make-up for Yom Kippur) Thursday, November 30
Last day of classes (includes make-ups for holidays) Thursday, November 30
Reception for August and December Graduates Thursday, November 30
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Thursday, November 30
Reading Period Friday, December 1 - Tuesday, December 5
Examinations begin Wednesday, December 6
Examinations end Saturday, December 16
Winter break (University closed) Saturday, December 23 - Monday, January 1

Spring 2018

Orientation for New LLM Students Friday, January 5
First day of classes Monday, January 8
Add/drop period Monday, January 8 - Friday, January 12 at 11:59 p.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on April 23) Monday, January 15
Spring Break Sunday, March 11 - Sunday, March 18
Registration for Summer 2018 semester begins TBD
Registration for Fall 2018 semester begins TBD
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, March 30 at 5:00 p.m.
Monday classes meet (make-up for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) Monday, April 23
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holiday) Monday, April 23
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Monday, April 23
Reading period Tuesday, April 24 - Sunday, April 29
Examinations begin Monday, April 30
Examinations end Saturday, May 12
Commencement Sunday, May 20

Summer 2018

Memorial Day Holiday (University closed; classes rescheduled on June 1) Monday, May 28
First day of classes Tuesday, May 29
Add/drop period Tuesday, May 29 - Saturday, June 2 at 11:59 p.m.
Make-up for Memorial Day (Monday classes meet) Friday, June 1
Independence Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on July 6) Wednesday, July 4
Make-up for Independence Day (Wednesday classes meet) Friday, July 6
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, July 13 at 5:00 p.m.
Last day of classes Saturday, July 28
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Saturday, July 28
Reading Period Sunday, July 29 - Tuesday, July 31
Examinations Begin Wednesday, August 1
Examinations End Monday, August 6