Academic Calendar

Spring 2018
Event/Deadline Date(s)
Orientation for New LLM Students Friday, January 5
First day of classes Monday, January 8
Add/drop period Monday, January 8 - Saturday, January 13 at 11:59 p.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on April 23) Monday, January 15
Spring Break Sunday, March 11 - Sunday, March 18
Registration for Summer 2018 semester begins Thursday, April 12
Registration for Fall 2018 semester begins Thursday, April 19
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, March 30 at 5:00 p.m.
Monday classes meet (make-up for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day) Monday, April 23
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holiday) Monday, April 23
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Monday, April 23
Reading period Tuesday, April 24 - Sunday, April 29
Examinations begin Monday, April 30
Examinations end Saturday, May 12
Commencement Sunday, May 20

 

Summer 2018
Event/Deadline Date(s)
Memorial Day Holiday (University closed; classes rescheduled on June 1) Monday, May 28
First day of classes Tuesday, May 29
Add/drop period Tuesday, May 29 - Saturday, June 2 at 11:59 p.m.
Make-up for Memorial Day (Monday classes meet) Friday, June 1
Independence Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on July 6) Wednesday, July 4
Make-up for Independence Day (Wednesday classes meet) Friday, July 6
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, July 13 at 5:00 p.m.
Last day of classes Saturday, July 28
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Saturday, July 28
Reading Period Sunday, July 29 - Tuesday, July 31
Examinations Begin Wednesday, August 1
Examinations End Monday, August 6

  Dates May Be Subject to Change  

Fall 2018
Event/Deadline Date(s)
In My Backyard (IMBY) Day of Service Monday, August 20
Orientation for New Part-Time JD Students Tuesday, August 21 – Thursday, August 23 (evenings) and Saturday August 25 (day)
Orientation for New Full-Time JD Students Tuesday, August 21 – Friday, August 24
Orientation for Transfer JD Students Thursday, August 23
Orientation for New LLM Students Tuesday, August 21 – Wednesday, August 22
Orientation for New SJD Candidates TBD
First Day of Classes Friday, August 24
Add/drop period Friday, August 24 – Thursday, August 30 at 11:59 p.m.
Labor Day holiday (University closed; no classes) Monday, September 3
Last Day to add externship credits, independent studies, moot court, mock trial, or journal credits Friday, September 14
Yom Kippur (University open; no classes) Wednesday, September 19
Registration for Spring 2019 semester begins TBD
Last day to Withdraw from a Class with a W Friday, November 2 at 5:00 p.m.
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, November 2 at 5:00 p.m.
Thanksgiving holiday (University closed; classes rescheduled on Tuesday, December 4) Thursday, November 22 – Sunday, November 25
Constructive Thursday (Thursday classes meet; no other classes meet) Tuesday, December 4
Last day of classes (regular Wednesday classes meet) Wednesday, December 5
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Request> Wednesday, December 5
Reading Period Thursday, December 6 – Monday, December 10
Examinations Tuesday, December 11
Examinations end Thursday, December 20
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Thursday, December 20
Winter break (University closed; no classes) Monday, December 24 – Tuesday, January 1
December Graduates Grades Due Wednesday, January 9
Deadline for Pending Grades from Previous Semester. Missing grades will convert to an F after this date. Friday, January 18

  Dates May Be Subject to Change  

Summer 2019
Event/Deadline Date(s)
Orientation for New LLM Students TBD
First day of classes Wednesday, January 9
Add/drop period Wednesday, January 9 – Tuesday, January 15 at 11:59 p.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on April 24) Monday, January 21
Last Day to add externship credits, independent studies, moot court, mock trial, or journal credits Friday, January 25
Spring Break (University open; no classes) Sunday, March 10 – Sunday, March 17
Classes Resume Monday, March 18
Last day to Withdraw from a Class with a W Friday, March 22 at 5:00 p.m.
Registration for Summer 2019 semester begins TBD
Registration for Fall 2019 semester begins TBD
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, March 29 at 5:00 p.m.
Constructive Monday (Monday classes meet; no other classes meet) Wednesday, April 24
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holiday) Wednesday, April 24
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Wednesday, April 24
Reading period Thursday, April 25 – Monday, April 29
Examinations begin Tuesday, April 30
Examinations end Thursday, May 9
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Thursday, May 9
May Graduates Grades Due Monday, May 13
Commencement Sunday, May 19
Deadline for Pending Grades from Previous Semester. Missing grades will convert to an F after this date. Friday, June 7

  Dates May Be Subject to Change

Summer 2019
Event/Deadline Date(s)
Memorial Day Holiday (University closed) Monday, May 27
First day of classes Tuesday, May 28
Add/drop period Tuesday, May 28 – Monday, June 3 at 11:59 p.m.
Independence Day (University closed; classes rescheduled on July 30) Wednesday, July 4
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, July 12 at 5:00 p.m.
Constructive Thursday (Thursday classes meet; no other classes meet) Tuesday, July 30
Last day of classes Tuesday, July 30
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Tuesday, July 30
Reading Period Wednesday, July 31 –Thursday, August 1
Examinations Begin Friday, August 2
Examinations End Wednesday, August 7
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Wednesday, August 7
August Graduates Grades Due Monday, August 14
Deadline for Pending Grades from Previous Semester. Missing grades will convert to an F after this date. Tuesday, September 4

View Previous Semesters