Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

  Dates May Be Subject to Change  

Fall 2019
Event/Deadline Date(s)
In My Backyard (IMBY) Day of Service Monday, August 12
Orientation for New Part-Time JD Students Tuesday, August 13 – Thursday, August 15 (evenings) and Saturday, August 17 (day)
Orientation for New Full-Time JD Students Tuesday, August 13 – Friday, August 16
Orientation for Transfer JD Students Thursday, August 15
Orientation for New LLM Students Tuesday, August 13 – Wednesday, August 14
Orientation for New SJD Candidates Wednesday, August 14
First Day of Classes (Friday classes meet) Friday, August 16
Add/drop period Friday, August 16 – Thursday, August 22 at 11:59 p.m.
Labor Day holiday (University closed; no classes) Monday, September 2
Last Day to add externship credits, independent studies, moot court, mock trial, or journal credits Friday, September 6
Deadline for 'IP' Grades from Spring 2019. Missing grades will convert to an F after this date. Monday, September 9
Yom Kippur (University open; no classes) Wednesday, October 9
Last day to withdraw from a class with a 'W' Friday, October 25
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Friday, November 1
Spring Registration Begins Wednesday, November 13
Wednesday Classes meet (Makeup day for Yom Kippur) Tuesday, November 26
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holiday) Tuesday, November 26
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Tuesday, November 26
Reading Period Wednesday, November 27 – Wednesday, December 4
Thanksgiving holiday (University closed; no classes) Thursday, November 28 –Friday, November 29
Examinations begin Thursday, December 5
Examinations end Monday, December 16
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Monday, December 16
Winter break (University closed; no classes) Monday, December 23 – Wednesday, January 1
Grading Period Tuesday, December 17 - Sunday, January 12
Deadline for 'IP' Grades from Summer 2019. Missing grades will convert to an F after this date. Monday, January 13

  Dates May Be Subject to Change

Spring 2020
Event/Deadline Date(s)
Orientation for New LLM Students TBD
First day of classes Wednesday, January 8
Add/drop period Wednesday, January 8 – Tuesday, January 14 at 11:59 p.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University closed; no classes) Monday, January 20
Last Day to add externship credits, independent studies, moot court, mock trial, or journal credits Friday, January 24
Spring Break (University open; no classes) Monday, March 16 – Friday, March 20
Last day to withdraw from a class with a 'W' Friday, March 20
Classes Resume Monday, March 23
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Wednesday, April 1
Summer/Fall Registration Begins week of April 6-10
Monday classes meet (Makeup for MLK Day) Wednesday, April 22
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holiday) Wednesday, April 22
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Wednesday, April 22
Reading period Thursday, April 23 – Monday, April 27
Examinations begin Tuesday, April 28
Examinations end Friday, May 8
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Friday, May 8
May Graduates Grades Due Monday, May 11
Commencement Sunday, May 17
Grading Period Saturday, May 9 - Sunday, June 7
Deadline for IP' Grades from Fall 2019. Missing grades will convert to an F after this date. Monday, June 8

  Dates May Be Subject to Change

Summer 2020
Event/Deadline Date(s)
Memorial Day Holiday (University closed; no classes) Monday, May 25
First day of classes Tuesday, May 26
Add/drop period Tuesday, May 26 – Monday, June 1 at 11:59 p.m.
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holiday) Monday, July 27
Reading Period Tuesday, July 28 –Thursday, July 30
Examinations Begin Friday, July 31
Examinations End Wednesday, August 5
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Wednesday, August 5

  Dates May Be Subject to Change  

Fall 2020
Event/Deadline Date(s)
In My Backyard (IMBY) Day of Service Monday, August 17
Orientation for New Part-Time JD Students Tuesday, August 18 – Thursday, August 20 (evenings) and Saturday, August 22 (day)
Orientation for New Full-Time JD Students Tuesday, August 18 – Friday, August 21
Orientation for Transfer JD Students Thursday, August 20
Orientation for New LLM Students Tuesday, August 18 – Wednesday, August 19
Orientation for New SJD Candidates Wednesday, August 19
First Day of Classes Friday, August 21
Add/drop period Friday, August 21 – Thursday, September 1 at 11:59 p.m.
Labor Day holiday (University closed; no classes) Monday, September 7
Last Day to add externship credits, independent studies, moot court, mock trial, or journal credits Friday, September 11
Yom Kippur (University open; no classes) Monday, September 28
Last day to withdraw from a class with a 'W' Friday, October 30
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Monday, November 2
Spring Registration Begins November 9 – 20 (days and times to be assigned)
Thanksgiving holiday (University closed; no classes) Thursday, November 26 –Sunday, November 29
Monday Classes Meet Monday, November 30
Monday Classes meet (Makeup day for Yom Kippur) Tuesday, December 1
Thursday Classes Meet (Makeup Day for Thanksgiving) Wednesday, December 2
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holiday) Wednesday, December 2
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Wednesday, December 2
Reading Period Thursday, December 3 –Monday, December 7
Examinations begin Tuesday, December 8
Examinations end Saturday, December 19
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Friday, December 18
Winter break (University closed; no classes) Thursday, December 24 – Monday, January 4
Deadline for 'IP' Grades from Spring and Summer 2020. Missing grades will convert to an F after this date. Monday, January 18

  Dates May Be Subject to Change

Spring 2021
Event/Deadline Date(s)
Orientation for New LLM Students Friday, January 8
First day of classes Monday, January 11
Add/drop period Monday, January 11 - Wednesday, January 20 at 11:59 p.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University closed; no classes) Monday, January 18
Inauguration Day (University closed; no classes) Wednesday, January 20
Last Day to add externship credits, independent studies, moot court, mock trial, or journal credits Friday, January 29
Spring Break (University open; no classes) Monday, March 15 – Sunday, March 21
Classes Resume Monday, March 22
Last day to withdraw from a class with a 'W' Friday, March 26
Deadline for Non-Native English Speakers to request examination accommodations Thursday, April 1
Summer/Fall Registration Begins week of April 5-16 (days and times to be assigned)
Monday classes meet (Makeup for MLK Day) Monday, April 26
Wednesday Classes Meet (Makeup for Inauguration day) Tuesday, April 27
Deadline for Submitting Exam Deferral Requests Tuesday, April 27
Last day of classes (includes make-up for holiday) Tuesday, April 27
Reading period Wednesday, April 28 – Monday, May 3
Examinations begin Tuesday, May 4
Examinations end Saturday, May 15
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Saturday, May 15
May Graduates Grades Due Monday, May 17
Commencement Sunday, May 23
Deadline for IP' Grades from Spring and Summer 2019. Missing grades will convert to an F after this date. Monday, June 7

  Dates May Be Subject to Change

Summer 2021
Event/Deadline Date(s)
Memorial Day Holiday (University closed; no classes) Monday, May 31
First day of classes Tuesday, June 1
Add/drop period Tuesday, June 1 – Monday, June 7 at 11:59 p.m.
Monday Classes Meet (Makeup for Memorial Day) Monday, July 26
Last day of classes Monday, July 26
Reading Period Tuesday, July 27 –Thursday, July 29
Examinations Begin Friday, July 30
Examinations End Wednesday, August 5
Final Due Date for All Assessments without an Earlier Deadline Wednesday, August 5

View Previous Semesters