Ninth LL.M. International Commercial & Investment Arbitration Moot Competition

The 2021 Problem  has been published!
March 12-13, 2021
Deadline to register: February 1, 2021.

The 2020 Competition was cancelled due to COVID-19. The 2021 Competition will take place in Washington, D.C. if the health emergency continues the hearings will take place online. All law schools registered for 2020 will be able to participate in 2021 at no cost.

About the Competition

The Center on International Commercial Arbitration will organize from March 11, 2021, the Ninth LL.M. International Commercial Arbitration Moot Competition.  The event will start in the afternoon of March 11, 2021  with a conference that will discuss important issues related to the 2021 problem. The general rounds will take place on Friday, March 12 and the elimination rounds on Saturday, April 13.

This event, created specifically for LL.M. students, seeks to foster the study of international arbitration for the resolution of international business disputes and investment disputes.

Team members must be enrolled in a U.S. Master of Laws (LL.M.) program. Students from foreign law schools are also eligible to participate as long as they have a law degree and are enrolled in postgraduate law studies.

Students who have completed their studies (through the completion of the required units necessary for the awarding of the LL.M. degree) by December 2020 are unable to be part of a team. Students must be enrolled in an LL.M. or postgraduate law studies at the moment of the competition.

The 2021 Competition is sponsored by the Singapore International Arbitration Centre.

The competition focuses primarily on oral advocacy before a panel of arbitration experts. Participants are required to submit a brief argument outline. No other written memorandum is required. The Competition alternates every year between a problem involving an International Commercial Dispute and a problem arising out of an Investment Protection Law or BIT Provision.

In 2021 the problem involves an investment dispute under the rules of the Singapore International Arbitration Centre.

In 2020,  teams from the following institutions were scheduled to participate: University of Southern California Gould School of Law; The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law; Georgetown University Law Center; Emory University School of Law; Benjamin N. Cardozo school of Law; University of Pittsburgh School of Law; University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Law; Penn State Law;  and American University Washington College of Law.