2018-19 Humphrey Fellows' Celebrated at Certificate Ceremony

April 30, 2019

On April 25, the law school celebrated the Hubert H. Humphrey Fellows' accomplishments during their annual Certificate Ceremony. The program is coordinated by Professor Padideh Ala’i, director of the International and Comparative Legal Studies Program. American University Washington College of Law is the only law school in the country hosting the Humphrey Fellowship Program, funded by the Department of State and administered by the Institute of International Education (IIE).

Anne Howard-Tristani, president of Howard-Tristani International Consulting and Humphrey's niece, congratulated the Fellows and spoke to them about their accomplishments.

“The Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program is the greatest living legacy to Hubert Humphrey," said Howard-Tristani. "It trains all the future leaders of the world who are committed to public service – whether they are in the private or the public sector – no matter what their field of endeavor, ranging from public health to economic developmental law. It is such a joy every year for me to be with them because they really embody all the values, beliefs, and attitudes that he had.”

Humphrey Fellowships are granted competitively to mid-career professional candidates from developing countries that show commitment to both public and private sectors. Each year, the Fellows come to the U.S. for a year of study and related professional development and experience. This year, AUWCL hosted fellows from twelve countries, including Afghanistan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Jordan, Malaysia, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Senegal, South Sudan, Turkey, and Uganda.

“Every year we have the privilege and honor to host the Humphrey Fellows at our law school. They bring new perspectives to things, they add to the diversity of the campus, and they become part of the law school. Now, towards the end of the program, we are both proud of what they accomplished and sad that they are getting ready to leave. But we know they will go back to their countries and accomplish even more,” said Fernanda Ellenberg, assistant director of the Humphrey Fellowship Program.

Congratulations to the 2018-19 Humphrey Fellows:

  • Coumba Ndokh Ndiaye
  • Darlene Pajarito
  • Dev Datta Joshi
  • Guot Gabriel Guot
  • Hilal Beycan
  • Imran Shahid
  • Lubna Nasser
  • Nino Elbakidze
  • Predrag Raosavljevic
  • Sivabalan Suppiah 
  • Winfred Kyobiika Naigaga

See additional Humphrey Fellowship news here and here.