Humphrey Fellows' Accomplishments Celebrated at Certificate Ceremony

 Nancy Boswell, Anne Howard-Tristani,and Prof. Padideh Ala'i
Prof. Nancy Boswell, Anne Howard-Tristani,and Prof. Padideh Ala'i

On April 22, the law school celebrated the Hubert H. Humphrey Fellows' accomplishments during their annual Certificate Ceremony. The program, coordinated by the International Legal Studies Program at American University Washington College of Law is part of a nationwide Humphrey Fellowship Program, funded by the Department of State and administered by the Institute of International Education (IIE).

Speakers included Professor Padideh Ala'i; Associate Dean Tony Varona; 2014-15 fellow Sharon Tatenda Wekwete; Paul Schelp of the Department of State; Judy Gibson of the IIE; and Anne Howard-Tristani, vice-chancellor for international, federal and corporate affairs at the Universidad del Este, Ana G. Mendez University, Puerto Rico and Humphrey's niece.

2015 Humphrey Fellows

“The Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program is the greatest living legacy to Hubert Humphrey," said Howard-Tristani. "It trains all the future leaders of the world who are committed to public service – whether they are in the private or the public sector – no matter what their field of endeavor, ranging from public health to economic developmental law. It is such a joy every year for me to be with them because they really embody all the values, beliefs, and attitudes that he had. It gives hope and inspiration to people in their own country.”

Humphrey Fellowships are granted competitively to mid-career professional candidates from developing countries that show commitment to both public and private sectors. Each year, the Fellows come to the U.S. for a year of study and related professional development and experience. This year, AUWCL hosted fellows from thirteen countries, including Bangladesh, Belize, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Georgia, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, South Korea, Turkey, Togo, Yemen, and Zimbabwe.

Congratulations to the 2014-15 Humphrey Fellows:

  • Mohammed Abdulqader Alshuwaiter - Yemen
  • Hakan Arikan - Turkey
  • Folly Gnavo Attivi - Togo
  • Srdjan Blagovcanin - Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • A. E. M. Ismail Hossain - Bangladesh
  • Jackline Mwende Mwanthi - Kenya
  • Gulmira Shakiralieva - Kyrgzstan
  • Min-Hwan "Patrick" Shin - South Korea
  • Raul Silva Telles do Valle - Brazil
  • Sharon Tatenda Wekwete - Zimbabwe
  • Haider Zaman - Pakistan
  • Ann-Marie Elizabeth Williams - Belize
  • Eka Khutsishvili - Georgia

View photos from the reception.