2017 Women and the Law Leadership Award

Call for Nominations

Dean Camille Nelson and the American University Washington College of Law Women and the Law Leadership Award Committee committee seek nominations for the 2017 Women and the Law Leadership Award.

Several past recipients at the 2017 award lucheon


This award recognizes the extraordinary accomplishments of alumnae who have made significant contributions to the field of law and/or through their service to the law school. The Women and the Law Leadership Award Committee is comprised of past recipients who represent some of WCL's most prominent and dedicated alumnae.

To nominate a deserving AUWCL alumna, please complete the nomination form.


Dean Nelson and the Committee will present the Women and the Law Leadership Award at a luncheon on Monday, April 24, 2017.

RSVP here for the award luncheon.

For more information, please contact Jonathan Strausberg, Office of Development and Alumni Relations at 202-274-4236 or jonathan.strausberg@wcl.american.edu

View a complete list of the past honorees.

Committee Members

Leigh-Alexandra Basha ’85, Partner, Holland & Knight LLP *

The Honorable Dorothy Toth Beasley ’64, Senior Judge, Court of Appeals of Georgia (Retired)*

Pamela M. Deese ’83, Partner, Arent Fox LLP Member, Board of Trustees, American University *

Ellen Gleberman ’79, Vice President and General Counsel, Association of International Automobile Manufacturers *

The Honorable Jeannie Hong '92, Associate Judge, Baltimore City Circuit Court, 8th Judicial Circuit*

Jacqueline Jackson’74, U.S. Department of Treasury (Retired)*

Billie Jo Kaufman, Associate Dean for Library and Information Resources and Professor of Law Washington College of Law

Deborah Kelly ’88, Partner, Dickstein Shapiro LLP *

Daniela Kraiem, Associate Director, Women and the Law Program Washington College of Law

Maryanne Lavan ’84, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Lockheed Martin Corporation*

Karen Lockwood ’78, President and Executive Director, National Institute for Trial Advocacy *

Corrine Parver ’82, Founder, Health Law and Policy Project, Program on Law & Government Washington College of Law (Retired) *

Ann Shalleck, Director, Women and the Law Program, Carrington Shields Scholar and Professor of Law Washington College of Law

The Honorable Nan Shuker ’69, Senior Judge, Superior Court of the District of Columbia (Retired) *

Judy Smith ’85, Founder and President, Smith & Company *

Edna Ruth Vincent ’89, Principal, Colten, Cummins, Watson & Vincent *

Penny Wakefield ’79, Executive Board Member, Center for Human Rights, American Bar Association *

*Past recipients

Want to ensure the Women and the Law program continues to thrive at WCL? Make a gift today to support WCL, the first law school founded by women.

Make a gift today.