The Elliott Milstein Award for Professional Excellence

In honor of our founder, Professor Emeritus Elliott Milstein, the Clinic has established the Elliott Milstein Award for Professional Excellence. The Milstein Award is bestowed annually upon an alumnus/a of the WCL Clinical Program whose lawyering skills and values embody the highest standards of the profession, and whose career reflects core principles of the Clinical Program, including client-centeredness, reflective lawyering, seeking justice, and a commitment to training law students and junior lawyers.

Award Recipients:

2018: Jonathan Shapiro '74, Professor or Practice, Washington and Lee School of Law

2019: Randi Mandelbaum '88, Distinguished Clinical Professor of Law and Annamay Sheppard Scholar, Rutgers Law School