Full-Time Faculty

Teresa Godwin Phelps
Director
Legal Rhetoric Instructor
tphelps@wcl.american.edu

Paul Figley
Associate Director
Legal Rhetoric Instructor
pfigley@wcl.american.edu

Elizabeth Earle Beske
Legal Rhetoric Instructor
beske@wcl.american.edu

Elizabeth Keith
Legal Rhetoric Instructor
ekeith@wcl.american.edu

Heather Ridenour
Legal Analysis Program Director
Legal Rhetoric Instructor
hridenour@wcl.american.edu

David Spratt
Legal Rhetoric Instructor
dspratt@wcl.american.edu

Adjunct Faculty 2015-16

Don Aplin
Michael Artz
Elizabeth Cavanagh
Sara Kaiser Creighton
Jeffrey Danzig
Dale Durrer
Gregory Gardner
Renee Gerni
Jennifer Gershberg
Richard Hamilton III

Kevin Hancock
Paul Kaplan
Joshua Lindsay
Marco Palmieri
Stuart Robinson
Marc Sacks
Daniel Schwei
Gloria Solomon
Julie Wilson
Ehsan Zaffar

Legal Rhetoric Staff

Kathryn Foster, Program Coordinator
Alexandra Erichson, Administrative Assistant

Language has the power to shape the way people think and act and the ability to use language effectively is fundamental to successful practice. Our understanding of law and language has given rise to a unique program that prepares our graduates to become better writers and better lawyers. Our Program combines exceptional resources, outstanding expertise, and innovative yet proven techniques to develop students' writing and research skills. It gives our graduates an edge from their first day in practice.

Our comprehensive and rigorous program develops students' fundamental legal skills throughout their law school careers. The core of the program is Legal Rhetoric, a course unlike any other first-year legal skills offering. Even more distinctively, the program continues beyond the first year to include intensive writing components within other courses and programs.

Contact Information

Legal Rhetoric Program
Suite 129
4801 Massachusetts Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20016

Tel: 202-274-4074; Fax: 202-274-4307
E-mail: kfoster@wcl.american.edu

Office Hours:
Monday-Thursday: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Summer Office Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.