Awards and Nominations

HLC Awards Nomination Form

Nominee's Information

Nomination Information

Description of the HLC Awards

Annual Diversity Award

The Annual Diversity Award is given in recognition of an individual or organization that has contributed to the advancement of the Hispanic community of the Washington, DC metropolitan area. (Please note that nominations are not required to be considered for this award)

Premio Inspiración

This award was created in 2007 in celebration of the Tenth Annual Hispanic Law Conference and is given annually to a Juris Doctor (JD) student who has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to the Latino/a community nationally or internationally.

Goldman-Grossman Award

In 2007, this award was established in honor of Professor Robert Goldman and Dean Claudio Grossman, renowned experts in the Inter-American legal system and pioneers of the International Legal Studies Program. It is given annually to a Legum Magister (LL.M.) student who has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to the national and/or international Latino/a community.

Edward Bou Alumni Award

This award is named after Mr. Edward Bou, class of '58, for his numerous contributions to the Washington College of Law's Latino/a students and to the overall WCL community. Established in 2007, the Edward Bou Alumni Award is presented annually to a WCL graduate with demonstrated commitment to the Latino community of WCL.

LaLSA Scholarship

To support education, foster leadership, and encourage the pursuit of dreams, WCL's Latino/a Law Students’ Association (LaLSA) awards scholarships to Latino/a high school students who have demonstrated the desire to continue their education and a commitment to community service. (High school students must apply directly to LaLSA and be selected by a committee; they cannot be nominated for this award.)

LAAW Bar Review Award

Founded in 2006, the Latino/a Alumni Association of the Washington College of Law (LAAW) is a volunteer membership organization with the primary goal of supporting the academic performance of Latina/o law students at WCL through workshops, mentorships, and scholarships. Since 2008, LAAW has presented the Bar Review Award to a deserving WCL graduating student.

Past HLC Awards Recipients

Annual Diversity Award Recipients
2016: WCL Immigrants’ Rights Clinic and its Director Professor Jayesh Rathod.
2015: No Award Presented.
2014: James Ferg-Cadima, U.S. Department of Education and WCL adjunct professor of Latinas/os and the Law.
2013: Esteban Freeman, Office of the Dean.
2012: The Honorable Marisa J. Demeo, Magistrate Judge in the Superior Court for the District of Columbia.
2011: The Latin American Youth Center (LAYC).
2010: Hispanic Association of Colleges & Universities (HACU).
2009: Escuela Bolivia (now known as EduFuturo).
2008: The Hispanic College Fund.
2007: Robert Raben, Founder and President of The Raben Group.
2006: The Honorable Vanessa Ruíz, District of Columbia Court of Appeals (Ret).
2005: The Honorable Ricardo Urbina, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia (Ret).
2004: MANA, A National Latina Organization.
2003: Linda Estrada, Esq. Attorney, US Patent and Trademark Office (PTO), WCL Dean’s Diversity Council, and Past President of the Hispanic Bar Association of the District of Columbia (HBA-DC).
2002: A. Baltazar Baca, Esq., Past President of the Hispanic Bar Association of the District of Columbia (HBA-DC).
2001: Hermanos y Hermanas Mayores.
2000: Ayuda.
1999: Unknown.
1998: Gilberto de Jesus

Premio Inspiración Recipients
2016: Katelin Morales
2015: No Award Presented.
2014: Sonia Torrico
2013: Catherine Cone
2012: Brenda González
2011: Ana Corina Alfonso-Marsden
2010: Mariana Kihuen
2009: Erik Swanson
2008: Sebastian Amar
2007: M. Lucero Ortiz
WCL inaugurated the first Premio Inspiración in 2007.

Goldman-Grossman Award Recipients
2016: Marcela Salas Gutierrez.
2015: No Award Presented.
2014: Patricia Arispe Sanders.
2013: Jaime Farrant.
2012: Monica Maldonado.
2011: Monica Rizzo.
2010: Gina Aronne.
2009: Aquila Mazzinghy Alvarenga.
2008: Maria Jose Veramendi.
2007: Jorge Calderon.
WCL inaugurated the first Goldman-Grossman Award in 2007.

Edward Bou Alumni Award Recipients
2016: John A. Evanoff, Class of 1999, Attorney-Advisor at the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).
2015: Leila Jade Levi, Class of 2010, Attorney-Advisor at the Office of General Counsel, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).
2014: Richard V. Rodriguez, Class of 2011, Assistant Attorney General, Office of Consumer Protection at the Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia.
2013: Juan Sempertegui, Class of 2007, Director of Licensing at the State of Maryland’s Division of Financial Regulation.
2012: Omar Vargas, Class of 1998, Executive Director, Government Relations at Praxair, Inc.
2011: M. Lucero Ortiz, Class of 2007, U.S. Department of Labor.
2010: Shirley Rivadeneira, Class of 2004, U.S. Department of Justice.
2009: Carlos Quintana, Class of 2000, International Relations Officer at the U.S. Department of Labor.
2008: A. Manuel Garcia, Class of 2000, General Counsel, International at máh!
2007: Edward Bou, Class of 1958, Member of Bou & Bou.
WCL inaugurated the Alumni Award in 2007 and named it after Edward Bou starting in 2008.

LAAW Bar Award Recipients
2016: Christina Potter, J.D.
2015: Karyna Valdes, Esq., Associate at Thompson Hine.
2014: Hannah Pagán, Esq., Corporate Counsel at Obsidian, A Cadmus Company; and Sonia Torrico, Esq., Staff Attorney at the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
2013: Xavier E. Albán, Esq., Assistant City Attorney at the City of Miami; Janyll Canals, Esq., Staff Attorney at Advocates for Children of New York; and Catherine Cone, Esq., Staff Attorney, Fair Housing Project at the Washington Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights and Urban Affairs.
2012: Daniela X. Cornejo, Esq., Consular Adjudicator for Foreign Service at the U.S. Department of State; and Lucia Macias, Esq., Immigration Attorney at McVey Mullery & Dulberg.
2011: No Award Presented.
2010: Jennifer Jaimes, Esq., Supervising Attorney in Pro Bono Programs at Kids in Need of Defense (KIND); and Elvira Pereda, Esq., Attorney at the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB).
2009: Jennifer Molayem, Esq., Attorney at the Habeas Corpus Resource Center.
2008: Fabiola Carrion, Esq., Senior Attorney and Director, Data and Accountability Project, National Health Law Program.
LAAW inaugurated the first annual Bar Award in 2008.

LaLSA Scholarships
2016: Edwin Ordonez, Bell Multicultural High School in Washington, DC and Jennifer Pedraza, Washington-Lee High School in Virginia
2015: Angie Leon
2014: Melisa Quiroga-Herrera
2013: Melissa Lucero
2012: Karen Daniela Vallejos
2011: Andrea Rizkallah and Daniel Marquez
2010: Katherine Elizabeth Canales and Luis Alfredo Cortes
2009: Daysvha Suxo and Karen Vanegas
2008: Lorena Molina, Thomas S. Wootton High School and Isela Melendez, Wakefield High School in Virginia
2007: Grazia Cornejo, Yorktown High School; Nora Esparza, Mount Vernon High School; Cristian Roldan, Annandale High School; José Umanzor-Alvarez, Northern Virginia Community College; and Ana Villatoro, Herndon High School.
2006: Patrick Anthony Beckford, Montgomery Blair High School; Leticia Carmen Dominguez, Watkins Mill High School; Liana Elizabeth Montecinos, J.E.B. Stuart High School; Wilson Rafael Osorio Sierra, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; Pebel Eloa Segura, T.C. Williams High School; and Sherry Nicole Vittel, Lake Braddock Secondary School.