Legends & Leaders

Next Event Coming in April 2022

American University Washington College of Law’s Office of Development and Alumni Relations host its annual celebration of alumni, faculty, and student achievement every academic year in the first week of April. The Legends & Leaders is a community event for all alumni, students and family and friends.  In addition to recognizing our exceptional students and Myers Scholarship Award winner, this event provides an opportunity to recognize alumni who have been selected to receive: the Lifetime Philanthropy Award; Distinguished Alumnus Award; and Outstanding Graduate of the Last Decade Award (GOLD Award).

?Event Registration

Legends & Leaders 2021

Take look at the incredible honorees who were recognized at the April 9, 2021 Legends & Leaders event!

Alumni Awards 2021

? Ambassador Robert Frank Pence ’71 [Click and drag to move] ?

Ambassador Robert Frank Pence ’71 with
the Lifetime Philanthropy Award

Representative Stacey E. Plaskett

Representative Stacey E. Plaskett ’94 with
the Distinguished Alumni Award

Representative Stacey E. Plaskett

Andrew Kim
’12 with the Outstanding Graduate of the Last Decade (GOLD)


Retiring faculty who have dedicated their time and service to the AUWCL community include:

Nancy Abramowitz

Professor of Practice of Law Nancy Abramowitz, director of the Janet R. Spragens Federal Tax Clinic


Professor of Law Susan Bennett, director of the Community and Economic Development Law Clinic

Representative Stacey E. Plaskett

Professor of Law Barlow Burke, John S. Myers and Alvina Reckman Myers Scholar


Associate Law Librarian Sima Mirkin, Metadata/Digital Resources Librarian