SQT Results

Congratulations to the newest members of the Moot Court Honor Society!

Alice Brathwaite
Whitney Garrett
Emily Gianetta
Ty Halasz
Zachary Kady
Sarfraz Keshwani
Melissa Lim
Manalle Mahmoud
David Martinez
Carter Meader
Ted Moskovitz
Saray Noda
David Norris
Michael Parsons
Sarira Sadeghi
Misty Seemans
Brett Shields
Ashley Stelfox
Rachael Vieder
Amanda Weiss
Andy Woo
Alex You

The Moot Court Honor Society’s annual Spring Qualifying Tournament (“SQT”) is the competition in which students compete for available positions on the inter-school moot court team, also known as the Moot Court Honor Society. In order to participate, students must research and prepare their own briefs, as well as plan and present oral arguments on a model case chosen by the Directors.

This year's competition will take place on February 26, 2011. Registration will take place in the lobby of the Washington College of Law from January 31st through February 4th.

Tournament Documents

A. 2011 Spring Qualifying Tournament Rules

B. 2011 Spring Qualifying Tournament -- Memorandum to All Competitors

C. 2011 Spring Qualifying Tournament -- Case File and Problem | Errata

D. Sample SQT Briefs: Sample One | Sample Two*

E. Powerpoint Presentation from Brief Writing/Oral Argument Workshop (PDF) [This file is 1.28 MB]

* Please note: The case briefs are available for stylistic reference only; they are there to assist you with formatting, but not substance, content, etc.

Important Dates

Tournament Registration
Monday, January 31st through
Friday, February 4th
Problem Release
Friday, February 4th
Brief Writing and Oral Argument Workshops

Monday, February 7th and
Tuesday, February 8th

Briefs Due - Moot Court Office, Room 539
Thursday, February 17th
4:00 P.M. to 8:00 P.M.
Oral Arguments
Saturday, February 26th

Tournament Contact Information

Avi Rao and Andrew Kim
2011 Spring Qualifying Tournament Co-Directors