Alvina Reckman-Myers First Year Moot Court Competition

Congratulations to Our Competitors!

Finalists - Appellants
Finalists - Appellees
Misty Seemans
Alice Brathwaite
Allison Heldreth
Melissa Lim

Join us for the Final Round of the Alvina Reckman-Myers First Year Tournament on January 28, 2011 at 5:00 P.M. The final round will be hosted at the Stephen S. Weinstein Courtroom (Room 528) at the Washington College of Law.

The event is open to the public.

The Final Round panel is comprised of:

The Honorable Patrick L. Woodward, Judge, Maryland Court of Special Appeals
The Honorable Heidi M. Pasichow, Associate Judge, District of Columbia Superior Court
The Honorable William M. Cave, Chief Judge (ret.), Sixth Circuit Court of Maryland


Alex You
Alexandre Meyniel
Amanda Weiss
Ashley Stelfox
Binta Mamadou
Cody Beauchamp
Jillian Clouse
Juliana Clay
Katherine Chau
Phil Kegler
Thomas Avery
Whitney Garrett


Andrew Hernacki
Gregory Santiago
Anthony Destefano
Iman Freeman
Billy Kudrle
Jennifer Rea
Byron Moore
Mary Bonventre
Cat Morris
Michael Parsons
Doug Boling
Samina Bharmal
Elyse MacNamara
Ty Halasz
Gregory Meditz
Virginia Knapp


About the Competition

The Alvina Reckman-Myers First Year Moot Court Competition gives first year students the opportunity to test their appellate oral advocacy skills in a competitive environment while receiving substantive feedback from Moot Court Honor Society members.  The Competition prepares first year students for the Moot Court Spring Qualifying Tournament and Legal Rhetoric's appellate argument.  Two preliminary rounds will take place on January 22; thirty-two competitors will be invited back to compete in the elimination rounds on January 23, and four finalists will square off before a panel of practicing judges on January 28, in the Stephen S. Weinstein Ceremonial Moot Courtroom.

For information about the 2011 Competition please email the Competition Directors at

To listen to the podcast of the Moot Court/Mock Trial info session, please click here (MP3).

You may register for the competition between November 15th - November 19th at our table in the lobby, or online at

Competitor Information

Oral Advocacy Resources