Burton D. Wechsler First Amendment Moot Court Competition

2006 Tournament Results

  - Final Round Podcast
  - Pictures
  - Results Summary
Event Information

- 2006 Registration Materials
- 2006 Schedule of Events
- 2006 Problem
- 2006 Problem Diagram - Mural
- 2006 Problem Diagram - Arabic
- 2006 Hotel Accommodations
- 2006 FAQ & Answers
- 2006 Team Addresses.
- 2006 Competition Rules
- 2006 Certificate of Service


As we understand the difficulties surrounding team slating for the upcoming year, we wanted to provide you with an update concerning our competition.  We are currently in the process of engaging several premiere law firms and venerable legal institutions in the hope of securing a permanent sponsor for the competition. Because fostering such an arrangement will invariably take some time, we have decided to delay convening the 14th Annual Burton D. Wechsler competition until Fall, 2007.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, but we are confident that this slight delay will enable us to increase the caliber of the competition, thereby reestablishing it as one of the preeminent national competitions.  Please feel free to contact us at moot@wcl.american.edu if you have any questions. We hope to see you again in Fall, 2007.

We are pleased to tell you that pictures from the competition and a podcast of the final round are now available under Tournament Results. We were impressed by the quality of competitors this year, and we hope you enjoyed attending the competition as much as we enjoyed hosting it! 

The nation's capitol is the site of the Thirteenth Annual Burton D. Wechsler First Amendment Moot Court Competition. Law students from across the country will gather to argue a specially formulated First Amendment problem. Competitors will have the opportunity to showcase their oral advocacy skills before local judges, prominent attorneys, and First Amendment scholars.

The First Amendment Moot Court Competition is named for Burton D. Wechsler of American University Washington College of Law. The Washington College of Law Moot Court Board is proud to honor Professor Wechsler for his commitment to both First Amendment jurisprudence and the Washington College of Law's Moot Court Program.

Tournament Champions (second and third from left): Elizabeth Hayes, Menely Lari-Joni, and Rebecca Jannol (not pictured). Southwestern University Law School
Final Round Judges : Judge Reginald Walton United States District Court for the District of Columbia (left), Chief Judge Edwin Stern for the Appellate Court of New Jersey (center), and Judge Sharon Prost of the United States Court of Appeals for the DC Circuit (right).
Tournament Runners-Up(fourth, third, and second, from right): John O'Callahan, Sarah Siegel, and Keri Bruce

A maximum of thirty-two teams will compete for more than $800 in prize money. The winning team will receive $300, and $200 will be awarded for both best brief and best oralist. An award will also be presented to the best oralist in the preliminary rounds. All competitors will benefit from the feedback provided by distinguished Washington attorneys, judges and scholars, who will score the teams on their oral advocacy skills.

Teams will advance through two preliminary rounds, one octo-final round, one quarter final round, one semifinal round, and a final round between the top two law schools. The final round panels have been chaired by distinguished judges such as Judge Merrick Garland of the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit. The Washington College of Law is pleased to continue its tradition of attracting distinguished judges to preside over this year's competition.

The competition is held at American University, Washington College of Law.

If you have questions about this competition send an e-mail to competition Directors Chantel Lee and Akbar Siddiqui at moot@wcl.american.edu.