Jacqueline L. Jackson ’74 Honored at Women and the Law Leadership Luncheon

The Annual Women and the Law Leadership Award Luncheon and Ceremony was held March 21, recognizing the extraordinary accomplishments of alumnae who have made significant contributions to the field of law and through their service to the law school.

More than 150 students, staff, faculty, alumni, and friends attended the event hosted by the Women and the Law Leadership Award Committee and Dean Claudio Grossman at The Cosmos Club in Washington, D.C.

Dean Grossman presented the 2014 Women and the Law Leadership Award to Jacqueline L. Jackson ’74, whose illustrious career has included positions at the U.S. Treasury, Bureau of Public Debt, and White House Counsel's Office.

(Pictured Right: Dean Grossman, Jacqueline Jackson '74, and Sarah Brown '15, president of the Women's Law Association)

“I can honestly say that my parenting and education made it possible for me to have a satisfying career,” said Jackson. “I’ve always enjoyed the law school activities and the wonderful people that I’ve had the opportunity to work with. It has been a pleasure and a great importance in my life, and I really appreciate and thank you for this wonderful award.”

Along with her participation on the Dean’s Advisory Council, Jackson is a founding member of the Black Alumni Association, Washington College of Law (BAA/WCL) and hosts an annual reception for new students at the beginning of each year. She also established the Wilson and Amelia Young Memorial Scholarship at AUWCL in honor of her grandparents.

The luncheon program also included introductory remarks by Professor Ann Shalleck, Dean Grossman, and Edna Ruth Vincent ’89. Second year student and BLSA Board Member Shannon Schoultz ‘15 provided closing remarks.

“Ms. Jackson has offered us kind words, wisdom, and guidance for our legal education journey,” said Schoultz. “ She has opened up her home and her heart to the BLSA chapter here and we are forever appreciative and indebted to her for this. We could not pass up an opportunity to honor her, as she continues to honor us with a selfless spirit.”

Past recipients of the Women and the Law Leadership award include Judy Smith ’86, Smith & Company; Corinne Parver ’82, WCL Health and Policy Project (retired); Leigh-Alexandra Basha ’85, Holland & Knight LLP; Deborah Kelly ’88, Dickstein Shapiro;  The Honorable Dorothy Toth Beasley ’64, Court of Appeals of Georgia (retired); Pamela Deese ’83, Arent Fox; Penny Wakefield ’79, Center for Human Rights, ABA; Edna Ruth Vincent ’89, Colten Cummins Watson & Vincent P.C.; Karen Lockwood ’78, National Institute for Trial Advocacy; Betty Southard Murphy ’58 (deceased); Ellen Gleberman ’79, Association of International Automobile Manufacturers; The Honorable Nan Shuker ’69, Superiour Court of the District of Columbia (retired).  

“I really appreciate the supportive community that AUWCL has facilitated around women, and this event is a fantastic celebration of that,” said Annie Berry, a 2L. “It’s really great to meet our alumni and see how fantastic and accomplished they are. I really enjoyed it.”

(Pictured Left: Members of the Women and the Law Leadership Committee. Front row: Penny Wakefield ’79, Daniela Kraiem, Corrine Parver ’82, Jacqueline L. Jackson ’74 (recipient), The Honorable Nan Shuker ’69, Associate Dean Billie Jo Kaufman; Back row: Professor Ann Shalleck, Pamela Deese ‘83, Edna Ruth Vincent ’89, Deborah Kelly ’88, Karen Lockwood ’78, The Honorable Dorothy Beasley ‘64)