ITSO 38th Assembly of Parties

AUWCL Welcomes the International Telecommunications Satellite Organization's 38th Assembly of Parties

June 13, 2018

In the context of the partnership between American University Washington College of Law and the International Telecommunications Satellite Organization (ITSO), the law school hosted ITSO’s 38th Assembly of Parties June 13-15. The Assembly of Parties is ITSO’s most important meeting and it is attended by ministers, ambassadors, and other prominent government officials from ITSO’s 149 member states.

This is the second time that this event has been held at AUWCL. Delegates from 89 countries came together to make decisions about the organization’s future actions, dealing with issues such as ITSO’s financial matters, policy goals, and long term objectives. In addition to the usual matters of interest, the Assembly of Parties select new members of the ITSO Panel of Legal Experts. 


The Assembly is chaired by H.E. Dr. Siyabonga Cyprian Cwele, Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services from the Party of South Africa, and includes the participation of deputy chair Prabhash Singh, from the Party of India. The Assembly of Parties chose to designate Dr. Renata Brazil David '10, Director of Legal Affairs, as ITSO Deputy Director General. David will work alongside ITSO Director General Patrick Masambu.

The partnership between AUWCL and ITSO has led to the creation of the Program on International Communications Regulation and Policy, which is headed by AUWCL alumna Renata Brazil David. The Program has an advisory board composed of leading experts in the International Communications field, including many AUWCL professors, and is chaired by Professor Victoria Phillips. The Program currently has two courses: a Spring semester course on International Communications Regulation and Policy and an online course titled Basic Principles of International Communications Regulation and Policy. ITSO has hosted a number of interns from AUWCL in the last few years.

During the Opening Ceremony of the Assembly of Parties, Vice Dean Anthony Varona, who is also a member of the Program’s Advisory Board, welcomed all delegates to the law school.