AUWCL Co-Sponsors National Democracy Slam 2015, April 22

National Democracy Slam 2015

National Democracy Slam 2015 is a day-long conference taking place on April 22, 2015 that will explore 17 bold ideas for breaking partisan gridlock, ending gerrymandering, and improving America's elections and politics. The conference will feature leading electoral reform thinkers and policymakers.

Chuck Todd, NBC’s political director and moderator of “Meet the Press,” will host the final "Democracy Slam" with a high-powered panel, and Congressmen Mark Pocan and John Sarbanes will make keynote speeches. Other speakers include AUWCL professor Jamie Raskin, director of the law school’s Program on Law and Government, John Fortier, and civic leaders Harry Kresky, Trent England, Mickey Edwards, Rob Richie, and Mark Schmitt.

Conference attendees will have the opportunity to engage with the reforms via a live polling system that will be used throughout the day. The event is being webcast, and both in-person and online attendees will have an opportunity to weigh in on each of the 17 electoral reforms that are discussed, with real-time results for each poll.

National Democracy Slam 2015 is sponsored by the American Constitution Society, American University Washington College of Law’s Program on Law and Government, and the American University Legislation & Policy Brief, and FairVote.

Click here to view the agenda.

Click here to register to attend.

Click here to view the webcast on April 22.