Our Teaching Fellows

The law students enrolled in the Marshall-Brennan Constitutional Literacy Project at American University Washington College of Law are known as the Marshall-Brennan Teaching Fellows.

The program is open to all upper-level law students through a competitive application process at Washington College of Law and requires teaching in a DC classroom two to three days a week. Although the time and emotional commitments are great, the benefits reaped from the program are enormous for both the law students and the high school students enrolled in the course.

In addition to teaching, the Fellows take a year-long "Constitution in the Classroom" seminar led by Marshall-Brennan Associate Director and Adjunct Professor Lisa Curtis. Classes feature guest speakers from the DC education advocacy and teaching community and contributions from Congressperson Jamin Raskin, the founder and director of the Marshall-Brennan Constitutional Literacy Project. The Fellows learn classroom management techniques in the form of restorative justice training, as well as critical pedagogy, and master the "We the Students" and "Youth Justice" curricula.

2018-2019 "20th Anniversary" Teaching Fellows

Amanda Barnes

Amanda Tomack

Christopher C. Lange

Chris Rennie

Liz Davis

Eric Rico

Ericka Cruz

Katherine Rebholz

Maitland Allen

Michael G. Fabiano

Michael Arostegui

Nick Cross

Savannah Pugh

Travis Holmes

2018-2019 DEAN's Fellows

Brenna Culliton

Christina Small

2017-2018 Teaching Fellows

Joseph Kerins

Laurel Anderson

Jaime Rosenberg

Jenny Huchler

Luis Salazar

India James-Flemister

Justin Wickersham

Christina Small

Amanda Brennan

Wendy Bonilla

Sammy Hamed

Andy Ball

Brenna Culliton

Angie Moreno

2016-2017 TEACHING Fellows

Brishailah Brown

Carl Gaul

Courtney Arnold

Erica Fersch

Hiba Ahmed

Jani Loyo Ramos

Jessica McKenney

Joshua Couce

Larissa Zavarelli

Michelle Villegas

Molly Mattison

Naimah Duporte

Nancy Elanjithara

Pritika Ramesh

Samantha Dos Santos

Sanjana Biswas

Zac Johnston