Our Faculty & Staff

Here at the Program on Law and Government, we invite you to join a fascinating conversation among scholars, teachers, practitioners, and students about how to make popular government and the law more effective, more accountable, and more just. Our faculty have had extraordinary careers at the forefront of American public law.

Louis Caldera
 

Louis Caldera

Senior Affiliate in Law & Government

Distinguished Adjunct Professor

Phone: (202) 274-4197
Email: lcaldera@wcl.american.edu

Lisa Curtis
 

Lisa Curtis

Associate Director, Marshall-Brennan Constitutional Literacy Project
Adjunct Professor

Phone: (202) 274-4387
Email: curtis@wcl.american.edu

 

Fernando Laguarda
 

Fernando Laguarda

Professorial Lecturer and Faculty Director, Program on Law & Government

Phone: (202) 274-4011
Email: laguarda@wcl.american.edu

 

Guarina Lopez-Davis
 

Guarina Lopez-davis

Interim Program Coordinator

Phone: (202) 274-4368
Email: guarina@wcl.american.edu

Jeffrey Lubbers
 

Jeffrey Lubbers

Professor of Practice in Administrative Law

Phone: (202) 274-4263
Email: jlubbers@wcl.american.edu

Bettina Poirer
 

Bettina Poirier

Senior Affiliate in Law & Government

associate Adjunct Professor

Phone: (202) 274-4410
Email:

Andrew Popper
 

Andrew F. Popper

Ann Loeb Bronfman Distinguished Professor of Law and Government

Phone: (202) 274-4233
Email: apopper@wcl.american.edu

Diana T. Sawyer
 

Diana T. Sawyer

Program Coordinator

Phone: (202) 274-4368
Email: dsawyer@wcl.american.edu

Herman Schwartz
 

Herman Schwartz

Professor of Law

Phone: (202) 274-4239
Email: hschwar@wcl.american.edu

Steven Shapiro
 

Steven Shapiro

Senior Affiliate in Law & Government
Adjunct professor

Phone: (202) 274-4425
Email:

Julie Swaney
 

Julie Swaney

Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Email: jswaney@wcl.american.edu

Stephen Wermiel
 

Stephen Wermiel

Professor of Practice in Constitutional law

Phone: (202) 274-4263
Email: swermiel@wcl.american.edu