2016 Competition

The 21st Anniversary edition of the Competition was held from May 22-26, 2016 and attracted over 600 participants from 24 countries and territories. We welcomed 100 teams, over 200 judges, 77+ observers, and 25 volunteers, representing 24 countries and territories stretching across 5 continents. Participating schools were largely from the Americas but also from Angola, Belgium, France, India, and Switzerland. Though we spoke many languages and came from different backgrounds, the focus of our conversation was universal: the promotion and protection of human rights and their legal frameworks.


To see a full list of the winners from the 2016 Competition, please click here.


If you participated in the 2016 Competition and need to request a copy of your certificate, please click here.

Congratulations to all the teams that competed in the 2016 Inter-American Human Rights Moot Court Competition!

School Name Country
Universidade Católica de Angola (UCAN) Angola
Facultad de Derecho de la Universidad Nacional de Cuyo Argentina
Universidad Nacional del Sur. Argentina Argentina
Universidad Nacional de Tucumán (Facultad de Derecho y Ciencias Sociales) Argentina
Universidad de Buenos Aires Facultad de Derecho Argentina
Universiteit Gent Belgium
Universidad Privada Domingo Savio (Regional Santa Cruz) Bolivia
Universidad Católica Boliviana "San Pablo" - Cochabamba Bolivia
Centro Universitário Antonio Eufrásio de Toledo de Presidente Prudente Brazil
Centro Universitário Curitiba Brazil
Centro Universitário do Pará Brazil
FGV Direito SP Brazil
Faculdade Baiana de Direito Brazil
Faculdade de Direito da Fundação Escola Superior do Ministério Publico Brazil
Faculdade de Direito da Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais Brazil
Faculdade de Direito da Universidade de São Paulo (FDUSP) Brazil
Faculdade de Direito de Vitória Brazil
Fundação Getúlio Vargas Direito Rio Brazil
Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Paraná Brazil
Universidade Estadual do Norte do Paraná Brazil
Universidade Federal da Bahia Brazil
Universidade Federal da Paraíba - Centro de Ciências Jurídicas Brazil
Universidade Federal do Amazonas Brazil
Universidade Federal do Paraná Brazil
Universidade Federal do Pará Brazil
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro Brazil
Universidade Presbiteriana Mackenzie Brazil
Universidade da Amazônia - UNAMA Brazil
Universidade da Região de Joinville - UNIVILLE Brazil
Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro Brazil
Université du Québec à Montréal Canada
Universidad Diego Portales Chile
Colegio Mayor de Nuestra Señora del Rosario Colombia
Facultad de Derecho, Ciencias Políticas y Sociales Universidad Nacional de Colombia Colombia
Fundación Universidad del Norte Colombia
Pontificia Universidad Javeriana - Bogotá Colombia
Pontificia Universidad Javeriana Cali Colombia
Universidad Catolica de Colombia Colombia
Universidad La Gran Colombia - Sede Bogota Colombia
Universidad Autónoma de Colombia Colombia
Universidad Externado de Colombia Colombia
Universidad Libre, Seccional Bogota Colombia
Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana Medellín Colombia
Universidad Popular del Cesar Colombia
Universidad Santiago de Cali Colombia
Universidad Sergio Arboleda Colombia
Universidad Simon Bolivar sede Cúcuta Colombia
Universidad Simon Bolivar - Barranquilla Atl Colombia
Universidad Surcolombiana Colombia
Universidad de La Sabana Colombia
Universidad de Nariño - Facultad de Derecho y Ciencias Políticas Colombia
Universidad de los Andes - Colombia Colombia
Universidad del Magdalena Colombia
Pontificia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra (PUCMM) CSTI Dominican Republic
Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador Ecuador
Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja Ecuador
Universidad San Francisco de Quito - Colegio de Jurisprudencia Ecuador
Université Toulouse 1 Capitole France
Universidad Rafael Landivar Campus Central Guatemala
Universidad del Istmo Guatemala
Universidad Nacional Autònoma de Honduras Honduras
Gujarat National Law University India
University of West Indies Faculty of Law (Western Caribbean Team) Jamaica
Centro Universitario de Educación Superior Hermosa Provincia (CUESHP) Mexico
Escuela Libre de Derecho Mexico
Facultad Libre de Derecho de Monterrey Mexico
Facultad de Derecho de la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Mexico
INDEPAC Campus Metepec Mexico
Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Occidente (ITESO-Derecho) Mexico
Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León Mexico
Universidad Autónoma de Yúcatan, Facultad de Derecho Mexico
Universidad Iberoamericana, Ciudad de México Mexico
Universidad Iberoamericana Torreón Mexico
Universidad de Guadalajara Mexico
Universidad de Monterrey Mexico
Universidad Juárez Autónoma de Tabasco Mexico
Universidad Marista de Guadalajara Mexico
Universidad Marista de Merida A.C. Mexico
Universidad Americana, Facultad de Ciencias Jurídicas y Sociales Nicaragua
Universidad Centroamericana UCA Nicaragua
University of Benin Nigeria
Universidad Católica "Nuestra Señora de la Asunción" Paraguay
Universidad del Norte Paraguay
Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú Perú
Universidad Católica de Santa María Perú
Universidad de San Martín de Porres Perú
Universidad La Salle de Arequipa (Perú) Perú
Universidad Nacional de San Cristóbal de Huamanga Perú
University of Lucerne Switzerland
The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus Trinidad and Tobago
Chicago-Kent College of Law, IIT United States
Loyola Law School Los Angeles United States
Northwestern Pritzker School of Law United States
School of law, University of Miami United States
University of Baltimore School of Law United States
University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law United States
University of San Diego School of Law United States
University of Wisconsin Law School United States
Universidad Metropolitana Venezuela
Universidad Católica Andrés Bello Venezuela