Deans: Past & Present

Since its inception, the Washington College of Law has had the privilege of being governed by remarkable men and women. Their outstanding leadership and dedication to educating students of law, is evident in the quality of its graduates. We proudly introduce the Deans who have made this possible.

1896-1898 Woman's Law Class Directed by Mussey & Gillett
1898-1914 Ellen Spencer Mussey
1914-1925 Emma M. Gillett
1923-1924 Elizabeth Harris
1925-1926 Laura Hopkins Halsey
1924-1925 Emma M. Gillett (acting dean)
1926-1943 Grace Hays Riley
1943-1947 Helen Arthur-Adair
1947-1951 Horatio R. Rogers
1951-1956 David R. Bookstaver
1956-1967 John Sherman Myers
1967-1970 B.J. Tennery
1970-1971 Robert E. Goostree
1971-1977 Gordon A. Christenson
1977-1979 Nicholas Kittrie
1979-1980 Robert Goldman (acting dean)
1980-1985 Thomas Buergenthal
1985-1988 Frederick R. Anderson
1988-1993 Elliott Milstein (acting dean)
1993-1994 Claudio Grossman (acting dean)
1994-1995 Elliott Milstein
1995-2016 Claudio Grossman
2016-present Camille A. Nelson

- Washington College of Law Brochure: 1896-1996 Celebrating a Century of Excellence. University Publications, American University, 1996