Myers Society Logo

John Sherman Myers Society

To recognize and honor our most loyal donors to WCL, the John Sherman Myers Society recognizes donors making annual contributions of $2,500 or more. The Myers Society was established to honor former Dean John Sherman Myers and his wife, Alvina Reckman Myers, who dedicated their professional lives and personal wealth to AUWCL and our students. Since its inception three decades ago, the Myers Society has had a visible impact on AUWCL students by providing critical funding for scholarships, technological developments, facilities, academic initiatives, and student services.

When you make your gift of $2,500 or more to WCL, you automatically become a member of our Myers Society. With your recognition as a Myers Society member, you will receive special invitations to events, receive our bi-annual newsletter, and receive priority communications from WCL leadership.

Mussey Society Logo

1898 Society

The year 1898 has incredible significance in our history as the year AUWCL was officially incorporated as the Washington College of Law, and Ellen Spencer Mussey became the first female law school dean.  The 1898 Society pays tribute to that heritage by allowing AUWCL to celebrate individuals who impact our institution year after year through an unbroken string of annual gifts.

Members of the 1898 Society have been donors to AUWCL for two or more consecutive years, and will receive special recognition throughout the year in appreciation of their generosity. American University is truly grateful for the loyal support of our donors who have contributed to such a rich history and ensured a bright future.

Mussey Society Logo

Mussey-Gillett Society

Ellen Spencer Mussey and Emma Gillett are the founders of the Washington College of Law. In honor of their contributions, we recognize donors who make gifts of $100,000 annually or $500,000 over their lifetime to WCL by welcoming them into our Mussey-Gillett Society.

Gifts of this caliber allow WCL to create novel programs, allow our faculty to pursue excellence in study and pedagogy, and establish endowed funds to secure our world-renowned faculty.

With your recognition as a Mussey-Gillett member, you will receive special invitations to events, receive priority communications from WCL leadership, and tailored stewardship and impact reporting on your gift. Mussey-Gillett Society members may specify degrees of anonymity and participation in the society to ensure their privacy.


Mooers Society

Washington College of Law’s Mooers Society was established in 1990 to acknowledge individuals who have included the Washington College of Law in their estate plans and have named WCL as a beneficiary (revocably or irrevocably) in their will, life insurance, charitable gift annuity, charitable trust, retirement account, or similar vehicle.

Individuals who include WCL in their estate plans and make their intentions known to the university are invited to accept membership in the Mooers Society. The Society is named in honor of the Mooers family to recognize their involvement with WCL for nearly a century. Edwin A. Mooers, ’14 and his son, Edwin A. Mooers, Jr., ’41, were students, alumni, and faculty members of this law school. Edwin A. Mooers, Jr. ’41, a founding member of the Mooers Society, made a transformational gift to the school through his estate.

As members of the Mooers Society, you will be acknowledged in WCL publications (anonymity request respected), invitations to special events throughout the year, and personalized, professional charitable gift planning assistance.


If you are interested in making a gift at any of these levels, please contact:
Laura Herr, Associate Dean of Development & Alumni Relations at