Women and the Law Leadership Award

Women & the Law 2014 Jackson Committee Memebers
Front row: Penny Wakefield '79, Daniela Kraiem, Corrine Parver '82, Jacqueline Jackson '74, Judge Shuker '69, Billie Jo Kaufman
Back row: Ann Shalleck, Pamela Deese '83, Edna Ruth Vincent '89, Deborah Kelly '88, Karen Lockwood '78, Judge Beasley '64

The American University Washington College of Law Women and the Law Leadership Award recognizes the extraordinary accomplishments of alumnae who have made significant contributions to the field of law and/or through their service to the law school.

Past Recipients

Jacqueline Jackson '74
U.S. Department of Treasury (Retired)

Judy Smith ’85
Founder and President, Smith & Company

Corrine Parver ’82
Founder, Health Law and Policy Project, Program on Law and Government
American University Washington College of Law (Retired)

Leigh-Alexandra Basha ’85
Partner, Holland & Knight LLP

Deborah Kelly ’88
Partner, Dickstein Shapiro LLP

The Honorable Dorothy Toth Beasley ’64
Senior Judge, Court of Appeals of Georgia (Retired)

Pamela Deese ’83
Partner, Arent Fox LLP
Member, Board of Trustees, American University

Penny Wakefield ’79

Executive Board Member, Center for Human Rights, American Bar Association

Edna Ruth Vincent ’89
Principal, Colten, Cummins, Watson & Vincent

Karen Lockwood ’78
President and Executive Director, National Institute for Trial Advocacy

Ellen Gleberman ’79
Vice President and General Counsel, Association of International Automobile Manufacturers

The Honorable Nan Shuker ’69
Senior Judge, Superior Court of the District of Columbia (Retired)


Want to ensure the Women and the Law program continues to thrive at WCL? Make a gift today to support WCL, the first law school founded by women.

Make a gift today.