Gender Based Scholarships

American Association of University Women Career Development Grants

This program is open to women pursuing coursework beyond a bachelor’s degree (not including PhD).  Course work must be taken at accredited institutions.  Special consideration is given to women of color and women pursuing their first advanced degree or credentials in nontraditional fields.

American Association of University Women International Fellowships

This program is open to women who are not US citizens or permanent residents pursuing full-time graduate degrees at accredited institutions in the United States.  Several fellowships are available for study outside the US.

American Association of University Women Selected Profession Fellowships

This program is awarded to women who intend to pursue a full-time course of study at accredited US institutions in one of the designated degree programs where women’s participation traditionally has been low (architecture, computer/information sciences, engineering, mathematics/statistics).  Fellowships in the programs of business administration, law, and medicine will be restricted to women of color.  Applicants must be US citizens or permanent residents.

Effie Solomon Memorial Scholarship

Awarded by the American Association of University Women, Beaver Valley Branch.  This program is open to female residents from Beaver County, PA who are enrolled in an accredited law school.  Those who have completed at least one year of law school in good standing shall be given preference.

Elaine Osborne Jacobson Award

Awarded by the American Association for Justice, this program is open to female law students who are currently enrolled in accredited North American law schools on a full or part-time basis who through their law school academic and clinical work and other related activities demonstrates their aptitude for and a long-term commitment to a legal career of advocacy on behalf of the health care needs of children, women, the elderly or the disabled.

Ethel Louise Armstrong Foundation (ELA)

This program is open to female graduate students with physical disabilities.

HORIZONS Scholarship

Sponsor: Women In Defense, A National Security Organization
Open to female students enrolled full-time or part-time in an accredited university or college who demonstrate interest in pursuing a career related to national security and have a minimum GPA of 3.25. Must also be a U.S. citizen and demonstrate financial need.
Deadline: July

Ida Foreman Fleisher Fund

Awarded by the Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia, this program is open to female students, preferably Jewish, who are pursuing professional degrees.

Justice Pauling Davis Hanson Scholarship

Awarded by the Fresno County Women Lawyers Association; open to women who have completed their first year of law school.  Preference is given to current/former residents of Fresno, Kings, Madera and Tulare counties. Victoria Allard- Bernhardt, President Prudence Hutton, Affil. Gov. Contact: 559-226-1540

Leonard C. Horn Award for Legal Studies

The Miss America Organization
222 New Road
Suite 700
Linwood, NJ 08221
Attention: Scholarship Department
Awarded by the Miss America Pageant, this program is open to women who are working on a law degree and who competed at the local, state, or national level in a Miss America competition in 1993 or later.
Deadline: June

Margaret Yardley Fellowship Fund

Awarded to women who are New Jersey residents pursuing post-graduate advanced studies at any school.

Marilynne Graboys Wool Scholarship

Awarded to female law students who demonstrate financial need and are residents of Rhode Island.

The Mary and Benjamin Rubin Scholarship Fund

Awarded by the Central Scholarship Bureau; this program is available to women who are residents of MD who have been out of high school for at least twelve months.  A minimum GPA of 3.0 is required.  Applicant family income must not exceed $91,000/year.

The Mike Eidson Scholarship Fund
Sponsor: American Association for Justice
Contact: Catherine Rodman
AAJ Education
777 6th Street, NW, Suite 200
Washington, DC 20001
Description: Awarded annually to a rising 3L (or rising 4L in a night program) female student who has demonstrated a commitment to a career as a plaintiffs’ lawyer or criminal defense lawyer, along with dedication to upholding and defending the principles of the Constitution, and to the concept of a fair trial, the adversary system, and a just result for the injured, the accused, and those whose rights are jeopardized.
Amount: $5,000
Deadline: May

The Millie Gonzalez Memorial Scholarship

Awarded by the Factor Support Network, this program is open to women with Hemophilia or von Willebrand Disease.