Full-Time Faculty

Teresa Godwin Phelps
Director
tphelps@wcl.american.edu

Paul Figley
Associate Director
pfigley@wcl.american.edu

David Spratt
Legal Rhetoric Instructor
dspratt@wcl.american.edu

Elizabeth Earle Beske
Research Coordinator
beske@wcl.american.edu

Heather Ridenour
Legal Analysis Program Director
hridenour@wcl.american.edu

Elizabeth Keith
Academic Coordinator
ekeith@wcl.american.edu

Bianca Garcia
Legal Rhetoric Instructor
bgarcia@wcl.american.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Don Aplin
Michael Artz
Elizabeth Cavanagh
Jeffrey Danzig
Ethan Davis
Bethany Dickman
Justine Donahue
Dale Durrer
Suzanne Fitzgerald
Gregory Gardner

Renee Gerni
Richard Hamilton III
Paul Kaplan
Ben Miller
Patrick Nemeroff
Jarrett Perlow
David Rohrbach
Paul Stern
Patrick Urda
Julie Wilson

Legal Rhetoric Staff

Kathryn Foster, Program Coordinator

Rebecca Johnson, Administrative Assistant

Language has the power to shape the way people think and act and the ability to use language effectively is fundamental to successful practice. Our understanding of law and language has given rise to a unique program that prepares our graduates to become better writers and better lawyers. Our Program combines exceptional resources, outstanding expertise, and innovative yet proven techniques to develop students' writing and research skills. It gives our graduates an edge from their first day in practice.

Our comprehensive and rigorous program develops students' fundamental legal skills throughout their law school careers. The core of the program is Legal Rhetoric, a course unlike any other first-year legal skills offering. Even more distinctively, the program continues beyond the first year to include intensive writing components within other courses and programs.

Contact Information

Legal Rhetoric Program
Suite 129
4801 Massachusetts Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20016

Tel: 202-274-4074; Fax: 202-274-4307
E-mail: kfoster@wcl.american.edu

Office Hours:
Monday-Thursday: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Summer Office Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.